top of page

Faithful in the Little Things


Elevation Church has had my heart since my freshmen year at Winthrop University. I was honored to intern with this amazing church in 2014, and our pastor offers opportunities for interns(and sometimes Twitter) to ask him any question they'd like. One that is asked often and one that peaked my interest was "What would you say to someone who wants to be a pastor one day?"

His answer; "Be faithful in the little things."

That answer reverberated through my soul for the past year. I was convicted; I was nowhere near faithful in the little things. I lost every ounce of discipline I had. I was hedonistic and did what I felt like doing, whenever I felt like doing it. Or not doing it. It started to take a toll on my personal and professional view of myself because I came to the crushing reality that I wasn't in control anymore.

I thank God though because now, a year later, He's call me on my issues and called me to give my selfish desires and decisions back to Him. Recent successes include fasting, going to church when I didn't feel like waking up and getting ready, and even taking my insulin a bit diligently. Not to mention the newest, biggest challenge of pounding out two blogs in one sitting. It was like pulling teeth, yet it's so satisfying to be obedient to God. I think I'll stick with it.

Every act of obedience sends out a ripple effect in the Spirit. There are a lot of spiritual things that are intertwined with our physical lives. For example, I was physically sick on Friday morning, and was highly tempted not to go to work. I didn't want to be the worker that called out sick for just about anything, so I figured I was going to just tough it out and go to work as planned. However, it got worse when I got to work, and Kelsey told our boss that he was going to take me home. End of story....not. I wanted to see it through, so I just went to get some breakfast(because food fixes almost anything) and came back to work feeling so much better! But as I came back to work, I couldn't help but think that something wanted to keep me away from work. There was a specific reason that I needed to be there on that particular day. Turns out, one of my favorite campers started dealing with panic attacks and the Holy Spirit prompted me to pray with her and her friend. Little did I know that the little girl had never been prayed for before. She felt peace that day, and realized that she likes being prayed for.

So, be obedient to what it is God is telling you to do, especially the seemingly simple things. When you're faithful with the little things, God begins to trust you with more. And there's nothing like when the God of the Universe trusts you with valuable favor, authority, and tasks that glorify Him.

Love, Ash


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page